Crush Groovin’: Aaliyah

aaliyah-aaliyahAugust 25, 2001: the day the R&B music world lost the young Aaliyah Dana Haughton. Rather than recalling where I was, what I was doing, and how her passing affected me 12 years ago, I’d like to focus on remembering her beauty and music.

Aaliyah
Aaliyah is the third woman I’ve ever had a girl crush on. (Cindy Herron of EnVogue and Tionne “T-Boz” Watkins were the first two respectively in case you were wondering. If not, then disregard those names because I’m supposed to be talking about Aaliyah, right?)aaliyah-haughton I specifically remember when I first saw her on television. The station? BET. The song? Back and Forth. And I’ve liked the woman ever since. But it wasn’t until the release of the One in a Million LP album that I was completely sold on being one of her supporters.

aaliyahShe was attractive, could dance (wasn’t she smooth?), and pioneered the shift in what R&B music sounded like in the late 90s thanks to the help of Timbaland and Missy Elliott et. al.

Till this day, I still miss everything about her. I miss seeing the tiny woman on my television. And I don’t care what anyone says: no matter how much the likes of Chris Brown and Drake try to incorporate her voice into their music and revive her with those ridiculous holograms, it will never be the same as having her presence in the world again.

aaliyahhaughtonThe music industry lost a special talent–a talent that was evolving and adhexpanding beyond music. But thankfully her fans and supporters can continue to keep her spirit alive through song, videos, interviews, and even her movies. (Curse Hollywood for not letting her kiss Jet Li, though! That was way off topic, I know.)

Rest in peace, “Baby Girl.” Gone but far, far from forgotten . . . .

aaliyah1

*k*

The making of We Need A Resolution :

One response to “Crush Groovin’: Aaliyah

  1. She was EVERYTHING! And so beautiful without being overtly sexual (or pretending to be virginal *cough* Brittney *cough). AND she made me feel okay about being a skinny tomboy in a Melissa Ford world (much like MY first girl crush, Chilli from TLC).

Leave a Reply

